Home Fashion New Board of Governors for NIFT

New Board of Governors for NIFT


The Board of Governors of the prestigious (NIFT) has been reconstituted by the Textile Ministry as the tenure of the previous Board expired on March 31, 2010. Textile Minister has included prominent textile industrialists and professionals in the newly constituted Board of Governors.

Venu Srinivasan, Chairman TVS Motor Co. and Managing Director, Sundaram Clayton Ltd. is the new Chairman of the Board of Governors of the National Institute of Fashion Technology (NIFT) now reconstituted. Venu Srinivasan was the President of (CII) during 2009-10 and is also a recipient of the Padma Shri Award.

The other new members are N.K. Singh, Deepa Das Munsi, Kumari Saroj Pandey, Director General, NIFT, Financial Adviser, M/o Textiles, Joint Secretary, M/o Textiles, Joint Secretary, M/o HRD,  A. Sakthivel,  Sanjay Jayavardhanevelu,  ,  Premal Udani, M. Ramaswamy, Rajshree Pathy and Dilip B. Jiwrajka.

NIFT being a statutory body formed in pursuance of the NIFT Act, 2006, approval for the appointment of Chairman and a few members of the Board of Governors is accorded by , President of India in her capacity as the Visitor of the Institute. Accordingly, the names proposed by Dayanidhi Maran, Hon’ble Minister of Textiles have been approved by Patil.

NIFT has centres at New Delhi, Kangra, Raibarelly, Gandhinagar, Bhopal, Mumbai, Bengaluru, Chennai, Hyderabad, Kolkata, Kannur, Patna and Shillong. New NIFT centres are coming up at Coimbatore, Jodhpur, Bhubaneswar and Srinagar. The institute caters to 8400 students.