Home Retail Bangalore is now Bengaluru

    Bangalore is now Bengaluru


    The Central government has given permission for the renaming of 12 cities of Karnataka. Only the renaming of Belgaum to Belagavi is withheld.

    Chief Minister said that the government had received a letter from the Centre asking it to go ahead with renaming the cities, with the exception of Belgaum. The conflict on the border between Karnataka and Maharashtra possibly resulted in withholding the Belgaum name change.

    The proposal to rename Bangalore to Bengaluru first came up in December 2005 at a meeting of litterateurs on celebrations of the state , Suvarna Karnataka.

    The Karnataka government then sent a list of 12 names in 2006, after which clearance from various departments including the Survey of India, Science and Technology, Post and Telegraph, and Railways was received. On November 1, 2006, the chief minister announced the renaming of the cities.

    The following are the changed names of the cities:

    Bangalore: Bengaluru
    Mysore: Mysuru
    Mangalore: Mangaluru
    Hubli: Hubballi
    Shimoga: Shivamogga
    Chikmagalur: Chikkamagaluru
    Bellary: Ballary
    Bijapur: Vijapura
    Hospet: Hosapete
    Tumkur: Tumakuru
    Kaup: Kapu
    Gulbarga: Kalaburgi