Home Retail E&Y announces 19 finalists for ‘Entrepreneur of the Year Award 2008’

    E&Y announces 19 finalists for ‘Entrepreneur of the Year Award 2008’


    (E&Y) has announced the 19 of India’s successful entrepreneurs as the finalists’ for the coveted ‘E&Y Entrepreneur of the Year awards 2008’. The names from the retail industry featuring in the list include , chairman, and , chairman and managing director, .

    On his nomination, Choksi said, “It is a moment of great pride and honour for us to have been nominated by the jury. It is the result of acclaimed designs and hard-working team. I am looking forward to winning the actual award.”

    The finalists for 2008 are , Vedanta Resources Plc; AM Naik, ; Arvind Rao, Onmobile Global; , ; G Bala Reddy, ICSA India; I Syam Prasad Reddy, Indu Projects; Jaiprakash Gaur, Jaypee Group; Mavila Vishwanathan Nair, Union Bank Of India; MM Murugappan, Carborundum Universal; P Namperumalsamy, Aravind Eye Care System; PRS Oberoi, EIH; Rohinton Screwvala, UTV Software Communications; RS Butola, ONGC Videsh; Sanjay Nayak, Tejas Networks; Sanjeev Bikhchandani and Hitesh Oberoi, Info Edge (India); Shantanu Prakash, Educomp Solutions and Venugopal Nandlal Dhoot, .

    The year 2008 marks the 10th year of the programme in India. The final awardee will be decided by a six-member jury.

    The winner of the award will represent India at the ‘E&Y World Entrepreneur of the Year Awards (WEOY)’ in , Monaco in May, 2009.