Home Latest News CAIT writes to Sonia Gandhi, urges Congress to support GST

CAIT writes to Sonia Gandhi, urges Congress to support GST


Traders body The Confederation of All India Traders (CAIT) on Monday – while seeking an audience with Sonia Gandhi – urged the Congress President to back the GST Bill “so that the much-awaited tax reform could see the light of day”.

CAIT writes to Sonia Gandhi, urges Congress to support GST
The Goods and Services Tax aids to simplify and standardise the tax structure of our country. (Image Courtesy: Sorbis/Shutterstock)

In a message sent to Sonia Gandhi, CAIT stated: “the roadblocks are giving a dismal picture of such an important tax reform in the country, which has become more of a political battle rather than a tax reform”.

ALSO READ: Cong will support GST if suggestions accepted

The traders body spoke of its intention to meet leaders of all political parties and ask them to extend their support to GST and will also send a memorandum to chief ministers of all states in this regard.

CAIT is going to launch a nation-wide protest against parties opposing GST – despite the fact that they would like some changes in the proposed legislation.

ALSO READ: GST will smooth way for e-comm companies

“We cannot wait for an indefinite period for rollout of GST… want GST to be passed in the next session of Parliament at any cost,” CAIT Secretary General Praveen Khandelwal was quoted by PTI as saying.

CAIT hopes subsuming various central and state-level taxes in GST will simplify and rationalise tax structure.

On Sunday, Finance Minister Arun Jaitley said the GST Bill will be put to vote in the next Parliament session even if the Congress continues to oppose it.

ALSO READ: GST to be rolled out by April 2017: HSBC 

The Government has been insisting that most of the parties except the Congress are in favour of GST, which once rolled out will bring about a uniform indirect tax regime.

The Goods and Services Tax (GST) Bill, which has been approved by the Lok Sabha, is pending in the Rajya Sabha.