Home Fashion Annual Conference of State Textiles Ministers

Annual Conference of State Textiles Ministers


After the new Government took over in May, 2014, Conference of State Textiles Ministers was held for the first time on September 24 this year. The Conference was chaired by Santosh Kumar Gangwar, Honble Minister of State for Textiles (I/C).

In response to the invitation, Hon’ble Ministers looking after Textiles matters of 16 States, namely Yashodha Raje Schindia (Madhya Pradesh), K.T. Rama Rao (Telengana), Shiv Kumar Bedia (Uttar Pradesh), Bhim Singh (Bihar), Snehangini Churia (Odisha), Pranati Phukal (Assam), Babu Rao Chinchasur (Karnataka), Madan Mohan Mittal (Punjab), K. Ravindra (Andhra Pradesh), Gokula Indra (Tamil Nadu), G. Kaito Aye (Nagaland), Mahadev Naik (Goa), Punnu Lall (Chhattisgarh), Harish Chandra Durgapal (Uttrakhand), Govindas Konthoujam (Manipur) and Joseph Lalhinpuia (Mizoram) attended the conference and participated in the proceedings.

Gangwar welcomed the state ministers and mentioned that the conference provides an important forum for interaction, getting considered views and suggestions for deciding the future course of action for the Indian textile sector in the coming days. He gave a brief account of the initiatives taken by the new Government under the dynamic leadership of Hon’ble Prime Minister Narendra Modi with stress on “Skill, Scale and Speed”, ‘Make in India” and Zero defect – Zero Effect (on environment) which will make the development participative and inclusive “Sabke-Saath, Sab Ka Vikas” for increasing production, export and generating employment. He appealed to the Ministers of Textiles in States and Union Territories for working together and developing the Indian Textile industry on a sustainable basis.