Home Beauty & Wellness British Hairdressing Awards 2011 Finalists announced

British Hairdressing Awards 2011 Finalists announced


Hairdressers Journal International has announced the finalists for the nine regional and six specialist categories for the British Hairdressing Awards 2011. Started in 1984 by Hairdressers Journal International and sponsored by Schwarzkopf Professional, the British Hairdressing Awards have become a prestigious event over time.

To enter the competition, hairdressers working in salons throughout the United Kingdom have to submit four images, that meet the relevant criteria, and reflect current trends. Depending on the hairdresser’s location, they can enter their regional category – Eastern, London, Midlands, North Eastern, North Western, Northern Ireland, Scotland, Southern or Wales and South West. Apart form regional category, there are six more special categories – Afro Hairdresser of the Year, Artistic Team of the Year, Avant Garde Hairdresser of the Year, Men’s Hairdresser of the Year and the Newcomer of the Year or Schwarzkopf Professional British Colour Technician of the Year.

In addition to the 15 regional and specialist categories, the most coveted award is the British Hairdresser of the Year title. Entry to this award is by nomination only, and in 2011, there are eight nominees for the title – Andrew Barton, Errol Douglas, Tim Hartley, Mark Hayes, Gary Hooker & Michael Young, Akin Konizi, Mark Leeson and Angelo Seminara.

“Each year the standard of entries in all categories becomes more creative and inspirational. British hairdressing is perceived throughout the world as being the best, and the British Hairdressing Awards recognise and reward creativity and excellence in all hairdressing skills,” said Jayne Lewis-Orr, Publisher/Editor-in-Chief of Hairdressers Journal International.